Some things I missed about Russia

August 31, 2008

1. Grown-ups drink juice boxes. I can buy peach juice in a .5 liter box with a giant straw for about 35¢ and then walk down the street in broad daylight sipping from my straw without getting weird looks.
2. Coat check is abundant and always free, in every museum, bar, restaurant, etc. In places where there is no coat check, there are abundant and strategically placed coat racks. How civilized!
3. The boundless pleasure a person gets from little finds when you have to stop taking every-day things for granted. Today I found a cafe that sells smoothies! Yesterday I was in a supermarket that sold peanut butter! In Russia these things are worth so many more utiles than they’re worth in the states!

One Response to “Some things I missed about Russia”

  1. Abby Says:

    Omigod. Oh my God. Oh. My. God.

    Where did you find peanut butter? WHERE, DAMNIT?!?! I looked for so long…

Leave a comment